FINALISTS ANNOUNCED for 2022 Research Australia Awards

We are delighted to announce the finalists in six of our Award categories for the 2022 Awards.

These finalists, their nominators and guests will join members of parliaments, key sector influencers, and fellow Research Australia members, in a night of celebration where the winners and highly commended recipients will be announced.

This national event is now in its 19th year and brings together organisations from across the entire health and medical research pipeline to acknowledge and reward the research, innovation, technology, philanthropy and advocacy that play such a significant part in all our lives.

(in surname alphabetical order)

Health Services Award Sponsored by the Victorian Government Department of Jobs, Precincts and Regions (DJPR)

  • Professor Marie Bismark, The University of Melbourne
    • Nominated by Professor John Prins, Melbourne Medical School & Professor Jane Hocking, Melbourne School of Population and Global Health
  • Professor Adam Elshaug, The University of Melbourne
    • Nominated by Professor Nancy Baxter & Professor Rosemary McKenzie, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Sarah Larkins, James Cook University
    • Nominated by Professor Maxine Whittaker & Associate Professor Catrina Felton-Busch, James Cook University
  • Professor Elizabeth Manias, Deakin University
    • Nominated by Professor Anna Peeters & Professor Trish Livingston, Deakin University
  • Professor Johanna Westbrook, Macquarie University
    • Nominated by Professor Patrick McNeil & Professor Enrico Coiera, Macquarie University

Data Innovation Award

  • Dr Andre Andrade, University of South Australia
    • Nominated By Professor Alan Boddy, University of South Australia & Dr Oliver Frank, University of Adelaide
  • The AusVaxSafety Team, National Centre for Immunisation Research & Surveillance
    • Nominated By Professor Helen Marshall, The University of Adelaide & Adjunct Professor John Skerritt, Therapeutic Goods Administration
  • Professor Shlomo Berkovsky Australian Institute of Health Innovation
    • Nominated By Professor Carolyn Sue, Kolling Institute of Medical Research & Professor Dali Kaafar, Optus-Macquarie Cyber-Security Hub
  • Dr Hyun Soo Ko, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
    • Nominated By Dr Munish Verma, RANZCR & Professor Peter Gibbs, Walter & Eliza Hall Institute
  • Dr Matt Lamont, DUG Technology (Australia) Pty Ltd
    • Nominated By Mr Colin La Galia & Nathan Cera, DUG Technology (Australia) Pty Ltd
  • A/Prof Matthew Ritchie, WEHI
    • Nominated By Professor Douglas Hilton, WEHI & Dr Holger Heyn, Centro Nacional de Análisis Genómico (CNAG-CRG)

Great Australian Philanthropy Award

  • Ms Dianne Garner, Gretel and Gordon Bootes Medical Research & Education Foundation
    • Nominated By Mr Arik Thormahlen, College of Health and Medicine, ANU & Professor Graham Mann, John Curtin School of Medical Research.
  • Hearts & Minds
    • Nominated By Mr Tasman Cassim & Ms Kristen Mason, Black Dog Institute
  • Mr Brendan McAssey, Beluga Foundation
    • Nominated By Mrs Josie Haddrick & Mr Stephen May, La Trobe University
  • Mr Harold Mitchell, The Florey Institute
    • Nominated By Professor Trevor Kilpatrick & Mr Eric Cheng, The Florey Institute
  • Stan Perron Charitable Foundation, Stan Perron Charitable Foundation
    • Nominated By Professor Jonathon Carapetis AM & Alecia Benzie, Telethon Kids Institute
  • Mr and Mrs Roy & Nola Thompson
    • Nominated By Mr Russell Ousley, University of the Sunshine Coast & Professor Jim Lagopoulos, Thompson Institute

Advocacy Award sponsored by AbbVie

  • Guunu-maana (Heal) Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Program, The George Institute
    • Nominated by Professor Bruce Neal, The George Institute for Global Health & Paul Stewart, The Lowitja Institute
  • Ms Karen Cox, ghd
    • Nominated by Associate Professor Cleola Anderiesz, National Breast Cancer Foundation & Sandy Chong, Australian Hairdressing Council (AHC)
  • Assoc Prof Margie Danchin (Group nomination for Collaboration on Social Science & Immunisation), Murdoch Children’s Research Institute
    • Nominated by Professor Andrew Steer, Mudroch Children’s Research Institute & Professor Don Nutbeam, Sydney Health Partners
  • Ms Bronwyn Le Grice, ANDHealth
    • Nominated by Chief Information Officer James Dromey, Mudroch Children’s Research Institute & Professor Kerryn Butler-Henderson, RMIT University
  • Mr Sean Murray, Mito Foundation
    • Nominated by Professor Kathryn North, Mudroch Children’s Research Institute & Ms Megan Donnell, Childhood Dementia Initiative
  • Jane Tiller, Monash University
    • Nominated by Associate Professor Paul Lacaze, Monash University & Professor Martin Delatycki, Mudroch Children’s Research Institute
  • Professor Justin Yerbury, University of Wollongong
    • Nominated by Professor David Currow & Dr Tamantha Stutchbury, University of Wollongong

Griffith University Discovery Award

  • Dr Deborah Burnett, Garvan Institute of Medical Research
    • Nominated by Professor Christopher Goodnow, Garvan Institute of Medical Research & Professor Anthony Kelleher, The Kirby Institute, UNSW Sydney
  • Dr Caleb Dawson, WEHI
    • Nominated by Professor Jane Visvader, The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research & Professor Scott Mueller, The Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity
  • Dr Carlos Garcia Esperon, John Hunter Hospital/University of Newcastle
    • Nominated by Professor Christopher Levi University of Newcastle & Professor Mark Parsons, University of New South Wales
  • Dr Michelle Kennedy, University of Newcastle
    • Nominated by Mr Nathan Towney, University of Newcastle & Mr Paul Stewart, Lowitja Institute
  • Associate Professor Jo McDonall, Deakin University
    • Nominated by Emeritus Professor Mari Botti & Professor Ana Hutchinson, Deakin University
  • Dr Rachel Nelligan, University of Melbourne
    • Nominated by Professor Alicia Spittle & Professor Kim Bennell, The University of Melbourne

Frontiers Award Sponsored by ANU

  • Professor Jane Mary Andrews, Crohn’s Colitis Cure
    • Nominated by Professor Jane Mary Andrews, Crohn’s Colitis Cure & Professor Susan Jane Connor, South Western Sydney Local Health District
  • Professor Arthur Brandwood, Ellen Medical Devices
    • Nominated by Professor Vivekanand Jha, The George Institute for Global Health & Professor Simon Davies, Keele University
  • Dr Joshua Chou, UTS
    • Nominated by Distinguished Professor Brian Oliver, University of Technology Sydney & Associate Professor Kate Poole, University of New South Wales
  • Scientia Professor Justin Gooding, Australian Centre for NanoMedicine UNSW
    • Nominated by Professor Les Field, The University of New South Wales & Professor Tom Davis, The University of Queensland
  • Professor Alicia Oshlack, University of Melbourne
    • Nominated by Professor Alicia Spittle, The University of Melbourne & Professor Howard Bondell, The University of Melbourne


In addition to the winners of the above categories, the winner of the Peter Wills Award will be announced at the on the night, as will the winner of the 2022 GSK Award for Research Excellence.

Tickets are available now here. A reminder that the Gala dinner and ceremony is Thursday December 8 so please mark it in your diary and join us to celebrate the best in health and medical research, innovation, leadership, philanthropy and advocacy.


Best wishes from the Research Australia team

Research Australia