2023 Research Australia Health and Medical Research Awards

Health Services Award proudly sponsored by NSW Government 

  • Professor Michele SterlingUniversity of Queensland
  • Nominated by Ms Kim Smith, The University of Queensland & Mr Matthew Waugh, Motor Accident Insurance Commission, Queensland Treasury
Highly Commended:
  • Dr Gustavo Machado, The University of Sydney
  • Nominated by Professor Antoine van Oijen & Professor Christopher Maher, The University of Sydney
  • Professor Emily Banks AM, Australian National University
  • Nominated by Professor Sandra Eades AO, University of Melbourne and Chief Medical Advisor, First Nations, Heart Foundation of Australia & Professor Hilary Bambrick, Australian National University

Data Innovation Award sponsored by Digital Health CRC

Highly Commended:
  • Dr Alysha Elliott and the CO-ADD Team, The University of Queensland
  • Nominated by Professor Ian Henderson & Professor Denise Doolan, The University of Queensland
  • Dr Sean Randall and the LinXmart TeamDeakin University
  • Nominated by Professor Suzanne Robinson, Deakin University & Dr Lance Emerson, Victorian Agency for Health Information (VAHI) and Department of Health, Victoria

Great Australian Philanthropy Award

  • Mr Geoff Cumming, Karori Capital
  • Nominated by Professor Sharon Lewin AO, Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity & Ms Allison Howell Quinton, University of Melbourne
Highly Commended:
  • Mrs Katherine Gonzalez-Cork, Professionals Real Estate
  • Nominated by Associate Professor Cleola Anderiesz, National Breast Cancer Foundation & Mr Kul Singh, REA Group Ltd

Advocacy Award sponsored by AbbVie

  • Mr Col Reynolds OAMThe Kids’ Cancer Project
  • Nominated by Mr Own Finegan, The Kids’ Cancer Project & Professor David Ziegler, Children’s Cancer Institute
Highly Commended:
  • Mrs Catherine Hughes AMImmunisation Foundation of Australia
  • Nominated by Professor Jonathan Carapetis AM, Telethon Kids Institute & Ms Anne McKenzie AM, Telethon Kids Institute
  • Professor Megan Munsie, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute
  • Nominated by Professor Melissa Little AC, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute & Mr Andrew Giles, Neurological Alliance Australia

Griffith University Discovery Award

  • Dr James PangMonash University
  • Nominated by Professor Alex Fornito, Monash University & Professor Michael Breakspear, University of Newcastle
Highly Commended:
  • Dr Aidan CashinNeuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA) / UNSW
  • Nominated by Professor James McAuley, University of New South Wales & Professor Kim Delbaere, Neuroscience Research Australia
  • Dr Laurence Don Wai LuuUniversity of Technology Sydney
  • Nominated by Professor Ruiting Lan, University of New South Wales & Ms Catherine Hughes, Immunisation Foundation of Australia
  • Dr Chloe YapMater Medical Research Institute
  • Nominated by Associate Professor Paul Dawson, Mater Medical Research Institute & Professor Karen Moritz, University of Queensland

Frontiers Award sponsored by ANU

Highly Commended:
  • Associate Professor David Gallego Ortega, University of Technology Sydney
  • Nominated by Distinguished Professor Tuan Van Nguyen AM, University of Technology & Professor Elgene Lim, Garvan Institute Medical Research
  • Just-in-Time Tumour Implants TeamIMCRC
  • Nominated by Dr Julia Hocking, Stryker & Professor Milan Brandt, RMIT University

Digital Health Technology Award

  • Associate Professor Angus TurnerLions Eye Institute
  • Nominated by Professor Anna Nowak, University of Western Australia & Dr Ondine Gordon, Lions Eye Institute
Highly Commended:
  • Professor Mario Alvarez-JimenezOrygenUniversity of Melbourne
  • Nominated by Professor Mike McGuckin, University of Melbourne & Professor Wendy Chapman, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Clara Chow AMUniversity of Sydney – Westmead Applied Research Centre
  • Nominated by Professor Antonie van Oijen, University of Sydney & Professor Cheryl Jones, University of Sydney
  • Dr Marlien VarnfieldCSIRO
  • Nominated by Dr David Hansen, CSIRO & Dr Kaley Butten, CSIRO
  • Dr Aliza Werner-SeidlerBlack Dog Institute
  • Nominated by Dr Sam Harvey, Black Dog Institute & Dr Alexander Sweetman, Australasian Sleep Association

Peter Wills Medal

  • Emeritus Professor Caroline Isabel Bower AC, Telethon Kids Institute
  • Nominated by Professor Jonathan Carapetis AM, Telethon Kids Institute & Professor Fiona Stanley AC, Telethon Kids Institute

Of course none of this would be possible without our wonderful sponsors, to whom we are very grateful.

Best wishes from Your Research Australia Team