Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science 2016

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science are Australia’s most prestigious and highly regarded awards for outstanding achievements in scientific research, research-based innovation and excellence in science teaching.

These awards are presented by the Prime Minister and the Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science at a black-tie dinner in the Great Hall.

The Australian Government has created a new award in 2016. The ‘Prize for New Innovators’ will recognise the achievements of early career innovators in the commercialisation of scientific research that has had substantial beneficial economic, social and/ or environmental impacts, within ten years of completing their highest degree.

The Prizes are a tribute and inspire a sense of national pride by recognising the achievements and success of Australian scientists and innovators to both Australia and internationally; as well as the critical role science educators play in inspiring and encouraging students to take an interest in science and consider science as a career.

The two innovation prizes celebrates success in Australian commercialisation through innovative translational of scientific research. These prizes will promote building better links between universities, researchers and industry and encourage entrepreneurial spirit in our business and research communities.

Nominating for the prizes

Nominees should read the relevant guidelines for their chosen prize and submit their nomination online.

Nominations close at 5.00 pm Canberra local time on 28  April 2016.


Seven prizes are awarded annually to Australian citizens or permanent residents recognising the contributions that our scientists, innovators and science teachers are making to Australia’s current and future scientific capabilities.

Article thanks to
Featured image credit: Australian Science Communicators

You Might Also Like